Learning to be Six and Twenty Years

Terrance Layhew
6 min readJul 18, 2021

Since my 25th birthday, I was elected to the Board of Directors of an international training organization, I wrote a novel, I bought a home and grew a beard. A lot can happen in a year, even if it seems like life has slowed to a decrepit pace.

Photo by fotografierende from Pexels

The following are a series of lessons I’ve been meditating upon, and have been beaten, prodded, or knocked into me over the past 365 days. Each has their value, some may be applicable to you or not. Regardless, they have each meant something to me this last year.

Learning to be still

Be still, and know that I am God. — Psalm 46:10

I’ve never liked this verse very much. Being still sounds nice on the surface, it implies peace and restfulness, but ignores the dull boredom you can experience without the whirlwind of activity. The meaning of being still was emphasized this last year across the world with the pandemic crushing the activity of the common day, changing life to something slower. Some found this relieving, others agonizingly boring.

Photo by Nikko Tan from Pexels

Despite my own life being only marginally effected by the pandemic, it entered a time of quietness for other reasons. My…

--

--